Playing Movies and SMS on my Samsung EPIX

First, we finally got new phones (and carrier and phone numbers).  If I haven’t contacted you with my info yet, then shoot me an e-mail and I’ll get it to you.

We bought the Samsung EPIX.  This is a fantastic machine.  Windows and AT&T together couldn’t destroy the power of the phone (and a little judicious hacking).  The keyboard is firm and responsive, the touch screen doesn’t mind some abuse, the machine is tough, yet easy to carry.  Windows mobile 6.1 is not a terrible OS.  Windows Media Player Mobile is HORRIBLE.

First you need two programs to help with video playback.  You could probably make do with one, but there’s a good reason for both.

YouTubePlay – This program lets you A) go to youtube.com and watch videos and B) plays any flv video files.  The latter is actually more useful for me as I tend to download the flv from youtube to watch at my leisure.  It’s also a small file and a pretty good player.

TCPMP – This is a very good media player.  However, something to keep in mind is that because Microsoft is proprietary, any Windows Media File will play poorly on the EPIX.  They will play with TCPMP, but TCPMP must use the Microsoft codex and it slows down and makes the playback jerky (too the point of unwatchable for me).

Amerisoft DVD Ripper and File Converter – These are the only pay programs I have, but they are freaking awesome.  During the evaluation period, I ripped an episode of SG-1, downloaded to my EPIX, and watched it… smooth and beautiful.  So I don’t have a problem paying for this one.

BTW: I have a 4g micro SD card and all the videos saved to that.

Regarding WiFi:  I prefer having fast internet (especially at home), so I turned off the proxy (connections tab in settings folder).  Unfortunately, if you do that, then you can’t use AT&T for SMS messaging.  I think there is a way around that, but I haven’t gotten all the details yet.

My solution is actually pretty simple.  GMail.  Set up IMAP for Gmail and you can send almost anything you want that way.  My wife sends me pictures via Gmail and then sends a quick text message to check the e-mail.  It’s not quite as fast, but on the plus side, those pictures are now available on any internet connected PC and my home e-mail system as well.

I cannot wait for Fennec to come out.  That’s the Firefox for mobile phones browser.

Anyway, I hope this helps some with the EPIX.  Great phone… just some details that AT&T and Microsoft think that they are god’s gift to technology.  Some of us actually prefer things that work though.

~ by OgreMkV on May 11, 2009.

4 Responses to “Playing Movies and SMS on my Samsung EPIX”

  1. GReetings,

    Thanks for the great review and not to mention the links to the tools. I’m planning to buy this phone, just wanted to know if the phone plays youtube videos right out of the box, I mean without any extra installation?

    Awaiting your reply,

  2. thank’s your post, i like this

  3. Just bought an Epix. Love the phone. It will only play a few seconds of a movie then lockup. I am using YouTubePlayer. DVD conversion is Cucusoft’s Ulimate DVD Converter. Converting to .flv stored on 2gb card. flv doesn’t work any better than wmv.
    Any suggestions?

  4. hmm… that’s pretty odd. All of my videos are stored on a 4g card as well. The only thing I can suggest is to look very closely at the conversion size for the videos and make sure that they match the screen size. I’ve run into that before. If it’s a 320×200 screen and the video is set for 400×300 or something, then it will cause all kinds of lockups.

    The other thing is to make sure there aren’t a lot of memory hogging programs running in the background. Remember that Win mobile never shuts programs off unless you go into settings/memory and shut them off.

Leave a Reply

 
