Texas Sales Tax
I just read this article about Texas comptrollers ‘visiting’ a Lubbock gun show. The statements in the article got me curious so I visted the following sites regarding Texas Sales Tax Law
http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/sales/faq_collect.html – Texas Sales Tax FAQ
http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx94_153.html – Gun Shows and Texas Sales Tax
http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx94_108.html – Engaged in Business
http://www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxpubs/tx94_171.html – Internet and Texas Tax Law
If you read these carefully, you will find something very interesting.
By Texas Law, if you sell more than 2 items of any value within a 12 month period, you are breaking the law if you do not have a sales tax permit and collect sales tax.
Yep, if you do any of the following, you are breaking Texas law:
- Have a garage sale
- Sell 3 items on e-bay to Texas customers within 12 months
- Sell 3 items on craig’slist within 12 months
- attend a gun show (NOT as a dealer) and sell more than two items (say three magazines)!
- if you rent anything to anyone
- if have a place where you store stuff for sale
- if you have any physical location that acts as an office for the sale of more than 2 items per 12 month period
So all you people that do any of the following… BEWARE! The comptrollers are apparently trolling for you now.
BTW: Getting the Sales Tax permit is free, you just have to charge (in most places) 8.25% and send that to the state… to avoid breaking the law.