New Car… Part II

Well, I didn’t get the Mazda 6… oh well.

We looked at the Hyundai Sonata and it’s a fine machine.  It’s quiet, pretty peppy.  Nice big 6 engine and plenty of truck room.  The back seats were a little tight though.

Then we drove to look at the Mazda and Lexie made me stop in a Subaru dealership along the way.  We looked at an ’09 WRX and, God, was it fast.  I think the salesman peed his pants.  He took us to the winding back road and said, “go ahead and open it up.”  I said, “really!??!”  Then he said, “Keep it under 80.”

80 mph took about 7 seconds and it stayed there.  When the salesman slid from one side of the backseat to the other, he said, “OK, that’s enough!”

It was actually too fast.  The transmission was pretty rough.  There is actually more room in the back seat than in the Hyundai though.  The sticker was a little over 26k.  Which was out of our range, by a not a little bit.

As we’re walking around, Lexie says, “what’s the deal on those?”  Two WRXs, side-by-side, both are selling for under 21k.  One’s a red sedan and the other’s a grey wagon.

“Oh, those are last year’s demos.  They have about 6k miles on them.”

I asked, “Doesn’t last year’s model have less power?”

“Oh yeah,” he says, “A little bit.  They might be perfect for you.”

He goes to get the keys and I see that the red sedan has a short throw Momo shifter.  I was sold.

It’s perfect.  The clutch and transmission are VERY smooth.  The power is there, but not psychopathic (hey, I have a two-year-old and I’m not even close to 30 anymore).  The ride is nice.  The clutch is a little stiff and the car is a little noisy above 80, but, God, is it fun.

So we go get the boy in it, come back after some heartfelt discussion along the way and buy it.

Oh, did I mention that the dealership gave me free maintenance for 36,000 miles?  Oh, and a 7/100,000 comprehensive warranty.  LIke, when I fry the clutch at 95k miles, I get a new one for $100.

The car sold me, the extras (like the free loaner car even for an oil-change) just made it really worth my while.

Pictures as soon as it’s detailed.

~ by OgreMkV on April 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
