Know Thy Self

“Know Thy Self” is one of my most important credos.  I believe that one must understand one’s self (emotionally, mentally, genetically, and philosophically, etc.)  and that once that is achieved, that you will become great and powerful.  Now, I don’t mean “I like cheeseburgers.”  This may be true, but it doesn’t get to the heart of who you are.  When you know yourself, truly, then you will almost surely know truths about yourself that you don’t like.  Even the statement “I’m a coward” doesn’t really mean you know yourself.

What I’m talking about here is a fundamental understanding of your own thoughts and behaviors.  Even if it’s something that you don’t like about yourself.  For example, I tend to ‘overindulge’ in cookies or brownies.  I know that I do it.  I understand why I do it.   I don’t like it, yet I’m almost powerless to overcome it.  Knowing thy self, is the first step to controlling yourself.

I’ve known all about myself for years, yet I’ve never really taken the next step to overcoming the problems that I see in myself.  I’m beginning that step now.  Wish me luck.

This was originally going to be an article about frustration.  One of the reasons I’m frustrated though is that most of the people around me don’t know anything about themselves.  They lack the ability to step outside of themselves and see the real world… not as they want it to be, but as it really is.

I believe I have achieved this ability, though I may be deluding myself.  I don’t think so though.  I have little difficulty in identifying the difference between the way the world is and the way I wish it was.

It’s almost enough to make me wish that I didn’t know myself… that I could be happy going through life day-by-day and not caring so much about everything else in the world.  Maybe there are more like me… I know there aren’t many in SE Texas.

Maybe that’s why I’m running for office.  Nietzsche describe three archetypes… the sheep, the priest and the noble.   I see myself as a priest. One who knows himself, yet doesn’t take advantage of others.

More rambling… yeesh

~ by OgreMkV on February 7, 2008.

One Response to “Know Thy Self”

  1. Although there were a few things I disagreed with the man on, he hit the truth about our social reality spot on. A vast majority of humanity are sheep (Whether enviromental or genetic in origin), a few are priets, and a few are nobles. We could draw even more from these archtypes, including the behavior of the groups toward eachother. Nobles, I assume, are the sociopaths, the predators, the overman. I see myself as something of a priest, and having the Myers-briggs type INTP only complements this. But back to the subject. Nobles are often given the material loyalty of society, they recieve the land, the money, the power, and everything it entails. Priets, well, what are they given? Wonder if Freethinker is a genetic trait, a concious choice, or a behavior?

Leave a Reply

 
