So Monday is the First Day of School

Well, summer is over… at least summer break is over.  It’s still about 110F with the heat index here.  I love covered parking (thank you Mrs. Heid).

Anyway, I will be teaching Physics, Chemistry, and IPC (extra points for what the letters stand for*).  These are fun to teach, except for Chemistry.  I can do Chemistry, I can teach Chemistry, but I don’t like Chemistry.  I am proud to say that I am more organized this year than ever.  Of course, that’s like being the best hockey player in all of Ecuador.

I have lesson plans for at least two months for all my classes.  IPC goes all the way to February.  I have the first 2-3 chapters converted to Powerpoint for my students to print out.  ANd I have LOTS and LOTS of labs scheduled.

This year, I have decided, with the help of a class I took this summer, to really push labs.  It helps to have IPC and Physics, they are easier to prep labs for and generally less dangerous than Chemistry.  And before you ask, no I don’t trust my Chemistry students not to injure me or themselves.

As long as I can keep up with the grading, this will be a great year.  I have 1st and 7th period off, so I should be able to get a lot done each day.

Here’s the funny bit.  My class sizes are 9, 9, 9, 4, and…… 25.  How’s that for insanely weird?  Although, one of the coaches will be in the 35 student class with me, it will still be very tight during lab time.  I’m not too worried, 90% of the kids there have athletics and I think he’ll run their tails off if they so much as blink funny.

All in all, this is one of the first years that I’m looking forward to school starting.

*IPC – Integrated Physics and Chemistry… a conceptual science class.

~ by OgreMkV on August 25, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
