Farewell Mr. Wizard

Farewell Don Herbert.  As far as I’m concerned, you were the man.  To quote Perfect Tommy, “Mr. Wizard was a great scientist.”

You know, I have nothing against Bill Nye.  He’s very intelligent and when I have seen him on something other than “Bill Nye: The Science Guy” I was impressed with his poise and eloquence.  However, his show is designed for the ADD generation.  I prefer something a little more focused and not having a rap interlude every 4 minutes.

I grew up watching Mr. Wizard and Carl Sagan’s Cosmos.  When there wasn’t anything but the science.  No flashy backgrounds, few special effects, and no dance routines.  Oh, and can you ever forget 3-2-1 Contact!!!!!!  Man, I miss those shows.  I wish they were on DVD for my son to watch.

I will say that for nature shows David Attenborough can’t be beat.  Sigourney Weaver did an OK job, but not as good as the man.

While I’m talking about great TV scientists.  I have to say that the Crocodile Hunter (RIP) was an idiot and Jeff Corwin is a much better Biologist and animal handler.

Goodbye Don.  You greatly affected at least one life.  Thank you!

~ by OgreMkV on June 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
