About Teaching

I get a few questions of why I would want to be a teacher.  Make no mistake, teaching is tough job.  You are always caught in a crossfire between kids, parents, principles, state rules, and exhaustion.  I became a teacher accidentally.  I quit my previous job because it was either that or kill myself.  (Literally, I realized one morning that I was holding a gun and wondering which would be less painfull, going to work or dying.  I quit that day.)  So I bummed around for a month and got a job teaching.  It was a rough school, one that is constantly looking for warm bodies to put in the classroom.  Turns out I had a little bit of a knack for it.

So now, I’m a teacher.  Weee…

At a party, a friend asked me about a job.  He worked as an engineer at the local papermill.  He said he could get me one as an assistant engineer.  It was pretty good money and an engineering job, without the engineering degree.  I got to thinking about it and I asked, “Did you work today?” (It was Saturday.)  He said that he had.  I asked, “Work tomorrow?”  He said he was on call, just in case.  Hmmm…

I asked, “What are your Christmas holidays?”  He said, “half a day the day before Christmas eve and both Christmas eve and Christmas day off.”

I told him, I get two to two and half weeks at Christmas.  Either three days or the full week for Thanksgiving.  I get a week in March just cause (Spring Break Rules!) and I get between two and three months off in the summer.  Thanks, but no thanks.

I make decent money.  I’ll never buy a house in California, but I’m not living there either.  You can always make more money.  You can never get more time.  With my wife and I both teaching, we get to spend all summer with our son.

I usually get some kind of contract job in the summer.  I’ll write test questions, do some research for an education company, write curriculum guides.  These usually pay about a $1000 per week.  So I have some mad money.

It’s a tough job, but the benefits are awesome.

~ by OgreMkV on April 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “About Teaching”

  1. I had no idea you were a teacher man! That is awesome! I have so much respect for teachers, especially the ones who go out and put forth an effort to make a difference in kids life not just be there to hand out assignments. Anyways, I had just read your post on AC about having the tank in your class and decided to check out your blog, good job!

  2. Thanks Mike. Also thanks for reminding me to put AC on my Blog roll.

    I’ve been out for a bit because of issues between my PC and wordpress. We’ll get it straightened out.

    See ya

Leave a Reply

 
